2014-2015 Season

For thirty five years, families and teachers have made Wild Swan Theater a tradition, delighting in our magical, lively productions performed by our award-winning troupe of professional adult actors, dancers, musicians, and American Sign Language performers.  As the only professional theater dedicated to young people in Michigan, we realize that parents and teachers alike count on us to bring to life the very best in children’s classics, introduce stories from other cultures in an accessible and fun way, and provide a theatrical experience like no other.  As we present our 2014-2015 season, we think you will agree that we have succeeded in doing just that!

Please Note: All of our season performances take place in Towsley Auditorium which is located in the Morris Lawrence Building on the campus of Washtenaw Community College.  Parking is located conveniently nearby.  All of our season performances are shadow interpreted for those who are hearing impaired. Backstage touch tours and audio-description are available for blind theater patrons but must be reserved in advance by calling (734) 995-0530.

 

image001

Frog and Toad

Grades PreK - 2

PERFORMANCES:
Thursday, October 9 – 10am
Friday, October 10 – 10am & 12pm
Saturday, October 11 – 11am Tickets now available at the door.

Two of Arnold Lobel’s most beloved characters, Frog and Toad, show how good friends help each other through thick and thin, cheering each other through the hard times, and celebrating life’s joys. Join Frog and Toad as they greet spring, plant a garden, and share a basket of cookies.

smpirateswmapleft

Treasure Island

Grades 3 - 8

PERFORMANCES:
Wednesday, November 19 – 10am (tickets at the door)
Thursday, November 20 – 10am (SOLD OUT)
Friday, November 21 – 10am & 12pm (tickets at the door)
Saturday, November 22 – 2pm (tickets at the door)
Sunday, November 23 – 2pm (tickets at the door)

Based on Robert Louis Stevenson’s classic, Treasure Island spins a tale of swashbuckling adventure, complete with buried treasure and a lot of mystery and suspense. Young Jim Hawkins comes of age under the tutelage of pirates like Long John Silver, discovering that goodness and evil are not always what they seem.

smSNgarden

Strega Nona and the Magic Pasta Pot

Grades PreK - 2

PERFORMANCES:
Wednesday, January 21 – 10am                                                                        Thursday, January 22 – 10am (limited seating)
Friday, January 23 – 10am (SOLD OUT) & 12pm
Saturday, January 24 – 11am

Strega Nona is a story that will satisfy your appetite for laughter and fun. Strega Nona has a magical pasta pot which only she can control. Come see what silliness ensues when Big Anthony does not listen to her, causing the streets of their small village to fill with pasta. Nationally renowned artist Chris Roberts-Antieau designed the sets, costumes and props for this not-to-be missed production.

Under The African Sky

Under the African Sky

Age 4 - 3rd Grade

PERFORMANCES:
Thursday, February 12 – 10am
Friday, February 13 – 10am & 12pm
Saturday, February 14 – 11am

A delightful collection of African tales performed through storytelling, acting, dancing, and drumming.  Colorful costumes, masks, and traditional music will delight and teach our littlest fans, with lots of opportunities for audience participation!

sm Fondo Mandy knee smile

I Can Hear the Sun

Grades 3 - 8

PERFORMANCES:
Wednesday, March 11 – 10am (SOLD OUT)
Thursday, March 12 – 10am & 12pm
Friday, March 13 – 10am & 12pm
Saturday, March 14 – 2pm

Based on award-winning Michigan author Patricia Polacco’s book by the same name, I Can Hear the Sun tells the story of Fondo, a young orphan. Fondo begins to find his place in the world as he tends a group of wild geese in a city park, especially by helping a blind baby goose. This story delivers important messages of compassion, hope, and reaching out to people different from ourselves.  (This production is funded in part by the Ann Arbor Area Community Foundation and the Michigan Humanities Council, an affiliate of the National Endowment for the Humanities.)

sm ugly in nest

The Ugly Duckling

Grades PreK - 2

PERFORMANCES:
Wednesday, March 25 – 10am
Thursday, March 26 – 10am
Friday, March 27 – 10am & 12pm
Saturday, March 28 – 11am

Resident playwright Jeff Duncan puts his spin on Hans Christan Andersen’s tale of a homely little bird born in a barnyard who is looked down on by everyone around him until, much to his delight (and to the surprise of others), he matures into a swan, the most majestic bird of all.

smJackMilky

Beanstalk – The Musical

Grades K - 5

PERFORMANCES:
Wednesday, April 29 – 10am
Thursday, April 30 – 10am
Friday, May 1 – 10am & 12pm
Saturday, May 2 – 2pm
Sunday, May 3 – 2pm

A rollicking musical version of “Jack and the Beanstalk” that will knock your socks off! With witty songs and music, an exuberant style, and quick paced patter, this production gives an old favorite a new sheen that will tickle the fancy of adults and children alike. A very silly (and unscary) giant is just no match for Jack’s wits as he scrambles up and down the beanstalk, rescuing his father from the Giant’s clutches, and earning back his pet cow, Milky White.